I used to have a big kieffer pear tree in the front yard of the house I rented in Michigan. It produced hundreds of pounds of crisp, sweet, juicy pears every fall. I fermented most of them into cider, but would always grab some here and there for a snack. Now whenever I see pears in the market I think of that tree and how much I miss it, and here’s something I always meant to try with the harvest. I finally made this easy dessert over the weekend with some bosc pears. They worked well, but I bet the crisp keiffers would be even better!

Enjoy the warm, sweet pears over cold ice cream.

Enjoy the warm, sweet pears over cold ice cream.

  • 1 large pear, cored, quartered, and sliced into thin pieces
  • 2 Tbs. butter
  • 1 Tbs. honey
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • Ice cream, pancakes, etc.

Melt the butter in a small frying pan over medium heat. Add the butter and cinnamon, stir until combined. Toss in the pears and lower the heat. Cook and stir until the pears soften. Serve over cold vanilla ice cream, banana pancakes, or whatever else sounds good to you. Serves two.

